top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Lawler

My Fragrance Story


I remember back when I was a little girl I used to love smelling the perfume ads in my mother's magazines. As soon as she got her magazine, I would skip all of the pages and go straight to the ads diving nose first into the scented flap. Sometimes, I would even rub the pages on me. My problem then, I wasn't old enough to have perfume. I did not understand why. I mean why did I have to be a grown up to smell good? Did I let this stop me? Of course not.

Being that I was the only child for a long time, I was alone a lot. I was mischievous occasionally and would be bored a lot. When my parents would have company, I would sometimes have to stay in their room to not interrupt the grown-ups. That's when the trouble began. There wasn't a television in there at the time, but there was my mother's perfume bottle on top of her dresser. I'd swear to myself that I was only going to smell them. I would lift the top and get that instant gratification. Sometimes, however, when I inhaled I didn't smell anything. So I did what any other girl in my position would do. I sprayed. Boy did I get it! Being the hard-headed girl that I am, this went on for awhile.

Then I turned 12. I got my own perfume at last. Growing up in the 90's I loved what every girl did, Baby Soft. When looking up the perfume for this post, I realized that their ads showed the sexualization of young girls. I never paid attention to that as a girl. All I cared about was how it smelled. The fragrance was powdery and floral. Baby Soft stayed my favorite for awhile.

When I was 14, I had a new favorite Revlon's, Charlie White. It had a blend of watermelon, violet, and jasmine, with notes of sandalwood.

At 15, my sister gave me Halston for women. It was fresh and citrusy.

When I was 16, I got two new favorites, Victoria's Secret Heavenly, and Dior J'adore. I have these two in my collection to this day. I love how Victoria's Secret Heavenly just smells sexy. Its combination of white musk, sandalwood, vanilla and white peony, make for a sultry combination. Dior J'adore has ylang-ylang essence, Damascena rose essence and sambac jasmine absolute. It gives you a sweet, luxurious feeling when wearing.

When I was pregnant with my second child, I worked at Saks. I instantly fell in love with MV2 MAC for women in the MAC department. If you're not familiar, it was the square bottle with the black bottom gold top. It smelled like something you could eat! Real sweet and almost chocolatey. It had floral, powdery, fresh, and spicy notes. Sadly, it's been discontinued.

When I couldn't get it anymore, I began to wear Michael Kors Signature. Michael Kors Signature is another collection regular. It has notes of spice and incense mingle with blue orris and peony, anchored by earthy vetiver.

At the same time, I wanted something different. So I started to wear Coach Poppy. This reminds me of candy. The scent has citrus, floral, fruity, and woody notes. I still use this one occasionally. Another one in my current collection is Coach Love. It has a blend of fresh and clean notes.

I also have Gucci Guilty. I haven't worn this perfume a lot, but I do really like it. It contains geranium, pink pepper, lilac, peach, amber, and patchouli. Another sweet and savory one.

I don't wear that one as much because of my current favorite, Alien by Thierry Mugler. It's the one I get complimented on the most. The best part is you can refill the warm floral perfume at department stores. It contains, jasmine sambac, cashmeran wood, and amber gris.

I like to switch it up from time to time. There's nothing wrong with it. Share below your fragrance favorites. Do you have one or a collection like me? I go off how I'm feeling and sometimes even what I'm wearing, or my makeup and hair. Extra. I know. No harm done. I just want to smell good.

Shop my fragrance story:

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page